Saved Reports

See Also

 

You can save the conditions for any of Chronicle's interactive reports in the Job Manager, Labor Manager, Marketing Manager, Collections Manager, Task Manager, and Graphs. Choose all of the conditions that you need for any report and click Save Report Conditions. The report will become available on your home page in Chronicle, and, unless you've made it private, it will also be available to others in your company who might need it.

Saved Reports Video

The Saved Reports training video covers the same basic material as we've covered here; see it on the Training Videos tab.

Managing Your Report List & Running Reports

Once you or others users save reports, you see them on your home page in Chronicle. Initially Chronicle shows you only the reports that you or a report administrator put onto list, but you can click All to go the list of all reports and run other reports or add other reports to your list.

Running any report: Click the report in the list, or right-click and pick Run report.

Adding any report to your own list: On the list of all reports, either check the In My List box (or right click and pick Add to My Reports. (The In My List column is only available in the All view since everything in the Mine view is already in your list.)

Removing a report from your list: Uncheck the box, or right-click and pick Remove from My Reports.

Editing name/type/who can see: If you created a report or if you meet the REPORTSLISTMANAGE security context, you can also edit the name and type of report and who can see it. To do this, right-click and pick Edit name, type, and who can view.

Deleting reports for all users: If you created a report that ends up not being what you needed, you can delete the report: but remember that deleting a report removes it from the list for ALL users; if you no longer need a report but others do, then remove the report from your own list rather than deleting it. To delete the report, right-click and pick Delete report for all users. (To get a deleted report back, change the Current drop-down to Deleted, and then right-click and pick Restore this deleted report.)

Limiting/Filtering the Reports List: If you have many reports, you can limit the list in two ways. If you aren’t sure of the name of the report you want, use the Type drop-down to limit the list to a particular kind of report. Or, in the Search entry, type either part of the name or the kind of report. Clear the search to get back to the full list.

Refreshing the List: If you add new reports, Chronicle should automatically refresh your list to include them. However, if others have added new reports since you've logged into Chronicle, click Refresh List below the list to update the list with any new reports. (If you log out of Chronicle and log back in, this also refreshes the list, so you only need the Refresh button to get other reports that have just been added.) Bear in mind that if someone has created a new report but not explicitly assigned it to you, their new report will only be in the All list and not in the Mine report view.

Showing Report Type or Creator: The report type and creator are initially hidden to keep the list from being cluttered, but you can add these columns if desired with the Customize Display button below the list.

Once you run any report, you can further modify conditions, drill in to get more detail, or interact with the underlying information just as you can with any report generated manually in Chronicle.

Saving New Reports

To save a new report, go to the appropriate module (Job Manager, Labor Manager, Marketing Manager, Collections Manager, Task Manager, and Graphs) and go to the tab with the report you want. At the top of the screen, select the conditions to use for your saved report.  To make sure the report includes what you want, you can run it before you save, but you don’t have to: you can just save the conditions.

Most of the conditions save exactly as shown, but two types of conditions need special notice:

reports for yourself: If you save a report that’s limited to just showing information for yourself, then any employee who runs your report will get a report for him or herself rather than for you. This way, a single report can be useful to many employees. However, if you save a report for an employee other than yourself, the report will always run for that specific employee. This is useful if a manager  or owner wants reports on specific employees.

date ranges: If you enter a date range rather than using one of the radio buttons, we don’t save the exact dates shown; rather, we save conditions that produce the corresponding range regardless of when the report is run. For example, if on Dec 14, you pick Nov 1-30, you are looking at the last complete month. If you re-run this report in June, you don't want to see November at that point; you want to see the last completed month.) As the report is being saved, a date dialog lets you confirm or override our guess about what dates you’re interested in.

Once you’ve selected the right conditions, click Save Report Conditions. This brings up a screen like the one at the right.

Name: Enter a name that clearly indicates what the report is for. In the list of All reports, your report will be shown with reports that other users have created, so enter a name that will be clear to everyone and not just to you.

Available to: Indicate whether the report should be available to everyone in your company who wants to, to users who meet a particular security level, or only to yourself. (Private is good if the report is only useful to you; it keeps the report list from being cluttered with lots of reports that aren’t generally useful to anyone else.) If you make a report available to everyone, Chronicle's usual security protections still apply, so users can't use a saved report to get information they couldn't normally see. For example, if you save a labor report and leave it available to Anyone in the company who wants it, people who aren't authorized to see labor will be able to see the report in the list, but they won't be able to run it.

Show In My Reports: Indicate whether you want the report in your own reports list. If this is checked, the report will be in the list of reports that you initially see on the home page. Any report that you’ll use regularly should be in your list. If this isn’t checked, then the report won’t go into your list, but it will be added to the list of All reports so you or others can find and use it when you occasionally need it.

Add to "My Reports" list for these other users: If you meet the security level for managing the reports list, then you can add the report to the My reports list for other employees. (This security context is called REPORTSLISTMANAGE; it can be changed on the Security tab in the setup.) For example, if I create a report that all estimators or all marketing employees need, rather than telling them that I created the report for them, I can just add it to their lists. If you don’t meet the security level for managing the report list, you won’t see this section of the screen.

Click Save to add the new report.

To edit any of these values after saving the report, right-click the reports list and click Edit name, type & who can view.

Date Ranges

If your report includes a date range with manually entered dates, a date dialog comes up that lets you indicate what date range to use when the report is run. For example, if on Dec 14, you pick Nov 1-30, you are looking at the last complete month. If you re-run this report in June, you don't want to see November at that point; you want to see May, the last completed month.) As the report is being saved, a date dialog lets you confirm or override our guess about what dates you’re interested in.

You only get asked about the date conditions if you specifically picked a date range option where you are entering specific dates. If you've clicked a radio button like Last Month or Year to Date, these are already relative periods that will automatically get different data depending on when you run the report, so we don't need further confirmation for these date options. If this date dialog doesn't apply to the options you picked, it won't come up.

If this dialog comes up, we take our best guess at what you wanted based on the dates you'd selected, but you can change this to any range you want. If you calendar year/quarters are different than your fiscal year/quarters, then the year/quarter options will let you pick which you want. The calendar/fiscal radio buttons won't be visible if the calendar and fiscal periods match.